Team Mclube Logo
McLube Customer Feedback link

16 U.S. Sailors Compete in the 2012 Olympic Sailing Regatta July 29-August 11

Click image to enlarge.

This summer's 2012 Olympic games features 10 sailing events to be held from July 29-August 1. While nine of the events are the traditional Olympic fleet-racing format, this is the first year that women’s match racing will be a part of the event. Anna Tunnicliffe, winner of the gold in the Laser Radial class in 2008, will skipper the three-person women’s match racing boat. Team USA leads in all-time sailing medals with 59, although Great Britain has the lead by 4 in the gold medal count with 23.

Fleet races start with an opening series. The ten boats with the lowest point totals (points are awarded as first = 1 point, second = 2 points, etc.) at the end of the series then compete in a medal race where points are doubled. For most classes, the opening series consists of 10 races (15 in the 49er class).

Click image to enlarge.

In women's match racing, two boats compete in each match, with the winner receiving one point and the loser none. All teams compete against one another in a round-robin format and the top 8 teams advance to an elimination series until two teams are left to compete in a final race for the gold medal.

In the 49er class, Erik Storck (Huntington, N.Y.) and Trevor Moore (Pomfret, Vt./Naples, Fla.) are using a U.S. flag spinnaker treated with McLube's SailKote Plus. See image on right. The 49er is double-handed, twin trapeze, high performance dinghy that uses an asymmetrical spinnaker. The 49er made its first Olympic appearance at the Sydney Olympics in 2000.

Follow the team at the 2012 Olympics at the following links:

Here are the 2012 US Olympic Sailing Team representatives.

  • Amanda Clark (Shelter Island, N.Y.) and Sarah Lihan (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.) – 470 (women’s two person dinghy)
  • Anna Tunnicliffe (Plantation, Fla.), Molly Vandemoer (Stanford, Calif.) and Debbie Capozzi (Bayport, N.Y.) – Elliott 6m (women’s match racing)
  • Bob Willis (Chicago, Ill.)—RS:X (men’s windsurfer)
  • Erik Storck (Huntington, N.Y.) and Trevor Moore (Pomfret, Vt./Naples, Fla.)—49er (men’s two person dinghy high performance)
  • Farrah Hall (Annapolis, Md.) – RS:X (women’s windsurfer)
  • Mark Mendelblatt and Brian Fatih (both Miami, Fla.) – Star (men’s keelboat)
  • Paige Railey (Clearwater, Fla.) – Laser Radial (women’s one person dinghy)
  • Rob Crane (Darien, Conn.)—Laser (men’s one person dinghy)
  • Stu McNay (Boston, Mass.) and Graham Biehl (San Diego, Calif.)—470 (men’s two person dinghy)
  • Zach Railey (Clearwater, Fla.) – Finn (men’s one person dinghy Heavy)

US Sailing Team Sperry Topsider is managed by the United States Sailing Association (US SAILING), the national governing body for the sport of sailing and sailboat racing. The top boats in each Olympic and Paralympic class are selected annually to be members of the US Sailing Team Sperry Topsider. US SAILING supports these elite athletes with funding, coaching and training. The title sponsor of the team is Sperry Topsider; other sponsors include Rolex Watch USA, Atlantis WeatherGear, LaserPerformance, Harken, Team McLube, Bow Down Training, New England Ropes, Group Experiential Learning and Trinity Yachts.



US Sailing Team

Team McLube
© 2016 McGee Industries. All Rights Reserved. 1-800-262-5823